The Eight Limbs of Yoga

The sacred text of the Yoga Sutra of Patanjali outlined the eight limbed path which is the basis of yoga. Each limb can be practiced one at a time or in combination with each other. The ultimate goal is to cultivate a steady mind which leads to a place of peace, well-being, harmony and then ultimately Samadhi.

This section of the website is a reflection of our own studies. This is an ongoing project but for now it is a just a simple outline. As we grow in our understanding, so this section will grow. The following eight limbs are in the ancient sacred language, Sanskrit.
om logo for peris yoga

  1. Yama – The five restraints or ethical disciplines
  2. Niyama – The five devotional observances
  3. Asana – The postures
  4. Pranayama – Breathing and the control of body’s energy
  5. Pratyahara – Sense withdrawal
  6. Dharana – Concentration
  7. Dhyana – Meditation
  8. Samadhi – Union with the Divine

My new class online is starting this Thursday from 6-7 pm. Yoga for All-Levels Experience. Come to class to Unwind - Release - Go Inward. Join me for a well-rounded class of relaxation, strengthening and balance. Sign up through my website ...

I will be starting a new class online - ‘Yoga Nidra for Healing’. It will be on Mondays at 6-7 pm. The format of the class will include stretches, poses, breath work and of course Yoga Nidra. Stretch - Breathe - Let Go. First class will be June 14, 2021. Sign up through my website Peris ...

I will be teaching an All-levels yoga class starting this Thursday, June 10th at 6 pm on Zoom. Visit my website to sign up. ...