Niyama – The five devotional observances

The second limb of yoga is Niyama. These five qualities and disciplines are given as guideposts on the spiritual path.

Sauca is purity

Sauca means purity and cleanliness of mind, body and actions.

Santosa is contentment

Santosa is to be content with what you have in life.

Tapas is self-discipline

Tapas means, “to burn”, “to eliminate” or “to be consumed by heat”. Tapas is to practice with discipline and drive.

Svadhyaya is self study

Svadhyaya is the practice of self-inquiry. This could include sacred readings.

Isvara Pranidhana is devotion

Isvara Pranidhana means; to lay all your actions at the feet of God.


My new class online is starting this Thursday from 6-7 pm. Yoga for All-Levels Experience. Come to class to Unwind - Release - Go Inward. Join me for a well-rounded class of relaxation, strengthening and balance. Sign up through my website ...

I will be starting a new class online - ‘Yoga Nidra for Healing’. It will be on Mondays at 6-7 pm. The format of the class will include stretches, poses, breath work and of course Yoga Nidra. Stretch - Breathe - Let Go. First class will be June 14, 2021. Sign up through my website Peris ...

I will be teaching an All-levels yoga class starting this Thursday, June 10th at 6 pm on Zoom. Visit my website to sign up. ...