Yama – The five restraints or ethical disciplines

The first limb of yoga is the Yamas, which are the guideposts for how to behave in society. The Yamas describe how to treat others and how to treat yourself.

Field of Purple Painting

Ahimsa is non-violence

The word Ahimsa, literally means to not injure, or show cruelty to any creature or person.

This Yama is the first for a reason. For all the other Yamas and Niyamas need to be carried out with Ahimsa in mind.

Satya is truthfulness

Satya means to speak the truth, but is not limited to the spoken word only. It implies truth in all action.

Asteya is non-stealing

Asteya means to to take nothing that is not rightfully yours to take.

Aparigraha is non-covetousness

Aparigraha means to take only what is necessary. This includes not taking advantage of any situation.

Brahmacharya is abstinence

Brahmacharya means abstinence, most particularly in regards to sexual relationships. This is not meant to be a forced repression of the sex drive. It is meant to transform the sex energy into fuel for the journey to higher consciousness.

My new class online is starting this Thursday from 6-7 pm. Yoga for All-Levels Experience. Come to class to Unwind - Release - Go Inward. Join me for a well-rounded class of relaxation, strengthening and balance. Sign up through my website Perisyoga.com ...

I will be starting a new class online - ‘Yoga Nidra for Healing’. It will be on Mondays at 6-7 pm. The format of the class will include stretches, poses, breath work and of course Yoga Nidra. Stretch - Breathe - Let Go. First class will be June 14, 2021. Sign up through my website Peris yoga.com ...

I will be teaching an All-levels yoga class starting this Thursday, June 10th at 6 pm on Zoom. Visit my website perisyoga.com to sign up. ...